Festival prizes

Prix du festivalThe famous statuettes of the international Indigenous film and video festival are the work of one of the greatest Inuit sculptors, Mattiusi Iyaituk. Cast from an original soapstone, they represent a hawk. They have been crafted exclusively for the Montréal First Peoples Festival.

The «Mattiusis» go with the three main annual awards of the festival:

  • First Rigoberta Menchu Award (social prize)
  • First Teueikan Award (artistic prize)
  • APTN Award (to an indigenous filmmaker who had a special accomplishment during the previous year)

The other prizes are:

  • Second Teueikan and Rigoberta Menchu Awards
  • Best Documentary Award of the journal Séquences
  • Best Canadian Short Film Award presented by Radio-Canada ($1000 prize)
  • Main Film Emerging Filmmaker Award ($1000 prize)
  • Prizes for Best Animated Film, Best International Short Film, Best Cinematography

APTN Award Nominees

The APTN award recognizes the accomplishment of an Indigenous filmmaker in Canada in the past year.

Tracey Deer for Beans (Canada, 2020, 92 minutes)
Jessie Anthony for Brother, I cry (Canada, 2020, 96 minutes)
Kim O'Bomsawin for Joséphine Bacon: Je m’appelle humain (Canada, 2020, 78 minutes)
Loretta Todd for Monkey Beach (Canada, 2020, 103 minutes)
Trevor Cameron for Shadow of Dumont (Canada, 2020, 88 minutes)

2021 Montréal First Peoples Festival Jury
Jury members (Création-Teueikan award, Communautés-Rigoberta Menchu Tum award, best short film, best animated film)

Elizabeth Weatherford
Neegan Trudel
Maya Menchu
Main Film
Craig Commanda
Luc Chaput
Thérèse Ottawa

Prix de la Relève
Jury MainFilm